Change

For the past week or so, I’ve been dealing with a lot of anger.  I have never hurt anyone and my anger hasn’t affected any jobs or school yet, but it has been getting bad to the point of me actually being afraid of myself.

Let me start by saying that for the past few years, my mother and I have had a…difficult relationship.  Thing have started getting worse after I had a fight with her boyfriend due to his racist comments.  He went on about how I was too young to understand, how I will feel that way someday, blah blah blah.  Basically blaming it all on age and nothing to do with who he is as a person.

Anyway, I threw that man out of our wedding…and was forced to reinvite him with the words “well, I guess I just won’t go either.”  Yup.  My mother threatened to not attend her daughter’s wedding unless I reinvited her racist boyfriend, risking my mixed raced nieces and nephews to have to hear his comments.  Needless to say, I felt like I had been stabbed.  I felt like I was being brushed aside for this hateful man who had no respect for minorities or women.  He luckily didn’t show up, but my husband, father-in-law, and brother-in-law (and others, I’m sure) were all ready to throw him out if needed.

Just recently, he was diagnosed with cancer.  I don’t like the man, but I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.  However, his treatments are not our problem.  But it became our problem when he was forced back into our lives.  Without going into details, I finally blew up.  I told my mother how I felt.  I lost my temper and even though I said the things I wanted to say, I didn’t say them the way I wanted to say it.  I wanted to be more classy then that.

I guess we all have a limit.

Shortly after, the election results came in revealing that the country has elected a man just like my mother’s boyfriend as president.  A man who has no respect for women or minorities.  A man who discriminates based on religion, and pushes Islamophobia.  A man who openly stated he wanted to turn same-sex marriage around and make it illegal once more.

Call me crazy…but I think I just saw the law of attraction at work.  Most people I know and have seen did not want him, but they focused on him and the negativity he would bring.  We all did.  We made jokes, games were made, protests against him…despite not wanting him around, we thought about him and talked about him to the point where now we are stuck with him.

What are we to do when life feels so dark and dismal?  We keep fighting.  If you did not see my last post, please go read it.  Keep fighting and don’t stop.  Fight for the good.  Fight for love.  Fight for basic human rights.  This isn’t just about politics anymore, this is about people being at risk for not being white, male, Christian, straight, or wealthy.

Sign petitions.  Let your voice be heard.  Volunteer your time to those who need it.  Give to charities in need (please not Salvation Army, their proceeds go to anti-LGBT organizations).  Tell someone you meet they look lovely today, it could be someone who very much needs it and perhaps you’ll save a life.

Let’s spread love.  Let’s try to put our anger aside (I understand, easier said than done, the keyword is try…) and show these people that love triumphs hate.  It has many times in the past, it will continue to do so.

Keep fighting, everyone!

Leave a Reply

