Virtual Reality and Pie!

Rob’s vacation came and went.  We actually didn’t get to do many things that we wanted, but that doesn’t mean we didn’t enjoy the week.  It’s nice just being together once in a while!

Last week was mostly just finishing up with my last week of Anatomy and Anthropology. Between this and other personal stuff going on, when we got the chance to relax this week, we took it.

We did pick up the PlayStation VR, though!  It’s such a sleek and nice looking set, but more importantly, it’s so much fun to try.

It was a little tricky to set up, although I’ve heard this one was actually easier than other VR sets.  But once you get going, it’s amazing!  If you’ve never tried VR, I highly recommend giving it a shot at least once.

The first game I tried was more of a VR experience underwater.  It’s so beautiful.  I wanted to touch the fish that came to say hi.  I was standing in a cage and was being submerged deeper and deeper.  I knew that the terrifying part was coming, but I still wasn’t prepared for it.  I selected the shark attack program, and yup…it’s scary!  What’s odd is you know it’s not real.  You tell yourself over and over that it’s not real, yet you still want to grab the sides of the cage and you still think that this beast is going to get you!  I won’t give too much away in case anyone wants to try the shark attack experience for themselves (my husband got the bundle, so I’m not sure if it comes with the headset normally), but I highly recommend sitting if you have bad joints!  You will jump!

I also tried Job Simulator.  As boring as it sounds, it’s actually pretty amusing.  You are in a futuristic simulation program of what the robots believed used to be real.  I personally loved the “gourmet chef” one!  I kept wanting to throw stuff at the waiter.  Be careful of your surroundings, though…I tried reaching over to throw something at the waiter without realizing how close I was to something.  My finger is still bruised…

If you are susceptible to migraines or have a condition like Epilepsy, please be careful!  It is very easy to lose track of time and become dizzy.  I also unfortunately learned the hard way that I can’t play games with too much motion with the VR, as it does really mess with my head.  Still, the games I do get to play are very fun!

Another smaller thing we did was apple picking.  I live in Rhode Island, which normally I can’t stand and can not wait to move out of someday, but I will say this…we have beautiful falls!  Despite the fact that today is a bit too warm for my taste.  Our leaves are beautiful, the weather is normally beautiful, the smells and flavors…I love everything about fall and it’s one of the only times of the year I don’t mind being in this state.

The apples were perfectly ripe.  If you haven’t tasted a fresh picked apple before, you’re missing out.  There’s something about them that just tastes so much better!

imag1713

And we were able to get a lot, too!  Whenever we go apple picking, I like to make a yummy dessert as well as munching on the apples themselves as snacks, so we did half red apples (perfectly sweet!) and half green (delicious and tart, perfect for desserts!)  Last time I made apple crisp, this time I decided to try something that I usually am horrible at…pie!  And guess what?  It was delicious!

imag1716

We made a dutch apple pie because I love the crumbly top, but the filling was so sweet and delicious…and the crust!  Mmm!  I love a good, savory crust, but have always failed at making them until now.  This one was perfect!  I actually got the recipe from Food Network Magazine, but most pie crust recipes are similar.  It’s all about practicing.  Also, cut the butter with a very sharp knife, and handle the crust with your hands as little as possible!  A little trick I learned was to pour the dough on to a large sheet of parchment paper and knead it using the paper.  This way, the butter won’t melt as fast.  You want some butter chunks for that yummy flakiness.

So that was it for our week, really.  Now we’re both coming down with something…boo!  Oh well, time to push the green tea!

Bye!

Leave a Reply

